Boards, Authorities, and Commissions

Boards, Authorities, and Commissions (BACs) allow individual citizens to provide additional input, advice, opinions, and perspectives as well as to evaluate, analyze, review, and/or study specific community issues. BACs may or may not include study of critical issues, hearing public testimony, conducting independent research, and/or reviewing staff reports and/or recommendations. Although BACs do not have the power to make decisions, they will often discuss and develop thoughtful and meaningful recommendations to present to the Mayor and City Council for their consideration. 

The City has a representative on or has established the following BACs:

Library Advisory Board. The Library Advisory Board is comprised of 12 members, made up of representatives appointed by the libraries’ funding agencies in Oconee County. The Board meets the second Monday of January, April, July, and October at 4:30 p.m. Each Board representative serves a three-year term. Applicants must be a resident of Watkinsville and a registered voter. The Board advises the libraries on planning, finance, local services, and library advocacy and makes recommendations to the Mayor and Council for formal approval. The mission of the Oconee County Libraries is to offer effective and professional service by providing library materials, resources, information, and life-long learning opportunities for the people of Oconee County. Please see for more information on programs and activities. The city’s current (2020) citizen representative is:

  • Vacant (term: January 1, 2020 - December 31, 2023)

Urban Forest Board (UFB). The UFB was established in 2006 with the Council’s passing of the Urban Forest Ordinance. Per the Ordinance, the Board consists of five members, each serving four (4) years. Members "shall be residents of the city and shall be appointed by the mayor and city council and shall serve without compensation." Members of the UFB will include the Code Enforcement/Compliance Officer, one councilman, and three citizens. The current (2020) Board members are:

  • Brett Thomas, Council - Post 3 (Chair) 
  • Susanna Drennan, citizen (term: April 2021 - April 30, 2024)
  • Bill Hunt, citizen (term: May 1, 2020 - April 30, 2024)
  • Harris Lowery, citizen (term: May 1, 2020 - April 30, 2024)
  • Tobie Cartledge, Code Compliance Officer
  • Mark Campbell, City Engineer (non-voting)

For more information, please contact City Hall at 706-769-5161.